Azealia Banks Writes an Emotional Apologetic Letter to Zayn Malik

By: Johanna Masango

azealia-banks-2013-firefly-5year-billboard-1548Azealia Banks performs at the Firefly Music Festival on June 22 (Photo by Theo Wago/Getty Images)

In her movement to #MakeAzealiaGreatAgain, female rapper Azealia Banks has come forth with an apology letter to Rnb singer Zayn Malik. This is after the rapper went on a lengthy foul-mouthed Twitter rant against the former One Direction star back in May, alleging him of copying her swag for his “Like I Would” music video. Banks’ Twitter account was suspended after she called the singer a “sand n—–” and a “f—–“, the rapper’s account remains suspended till this day.

3405c7a900000578-0-image-m-51_1462920806699Picture collage shared by Azealia on Instagram hours after Zayn released his music video for his single “like I would”, accusing him of emulating her work

Banks’ later wrote an Instagram apology to Malik days after the racist comments on twitter, the rapper then followed with a typed-out letter on Friday (21 October 2016), apologising. “There are no words that can fully express how sorry I am”, the letter begins. She adds that “Recent events have taught me the importance of taking accountability for one’s actions. I want and need to say I am sorry, I was wrong.”

14723448_1295778310467312_4943218284922142720_n.jpgletter by Azealia Banks apologising to Zayn Malik

The rapper goes on to claim that her attack on Malik was a misunderstanding, explaining, how she reached out to the singer on Twitter with an aim to applaud him on his solo career and finding his own path, and that she misunderstood a tweet Malik sent as a personal attack on her. Banks further explains on her letter that she has experienced discrimination as a Black female, and that she would not have used harmful and offensive remarks against Malik.

“At times, I am so consumed by my own struggle of my race, that I forget to consider the hardships other minorities continue to endure,” Banks continues on the letter.  “Coming from an ethnicity that is largely discriminated against does not warrant a license to use derogatory, abusive terminology nor does it give me the right to make hurtful remarks. I apologise not only to you, Zayn, but to all those I hurt and offended. I am not cruel, not am I heartless or vindictive. There is a lot of live in my heart and there is good in my soul. What I did was wrong and I am committed to being a better person.”

The letter comes right after the rapper’s recent dispute, involving actor Russell Crowe, whom she claims spit on her and called her the N-word at a party in Los Angeles. She went to write on Facebook saying that she will be pressing charges against the Crowe.

Leave a Reply

